The Museum of Ashe County History, Inc. is a non-profit organization dedicated to the re-purposing of the historic 1904 Ashe County Courthouse building as a county heritage museum for our citizens, their children, and our many friends who come to visit.

We use the objects, documents, and images we collect to answer the questions: Who are we? Where did we come from? How did we get here? What did we do on the way? We think this will help us find good answers to another question: Where do we go from here?

The museum is administered by a board of volunteers. The daily operation of the museum is managed by its employees.

Board Officers

President – Lee Beckworth
Vice-President- John Shepherd
Treasurer- Chris Hill

Board Members

Josh Beckworth
Garner Blevins
Jerry Brown
Colleen Campbell
Joy Campbell
David Chiswell
Pete Eller
Mike Herman
Brian Jones
Lonnie Jones
Ralph Reeves
Stephen Shoemaker
Teresa Stevens
Janice Worth

Museum Staff

Andrew Cole – Administrator

Lynn Kemp

Gwen Ashley

Ashe County's 1st Hundred Years
Virginia Creeper Train